Seven get AL cards in Chitalmari UP elections


Md. Kamruzzaman Khan Picklu, Chitalmari, Bagerhat:

Bangladesh Awami League has named seven persons to compete with boat symbol inn six union parishads in Chitalmari upazila.

The first phase of the Union Parishad elections will be held in 361 Union Parishads of the country on April 11. To this end, the candidates were finalized at a joint meeting of the party’s Parliamentary and Local Government People’s Representative Nomination Board on Saturday (March 13) at the Prime Minister’s official residence Ganobhaban.

The meeting was chaired by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, President of Awami League and President of Parliamentary and Local Government People’s Representatives Nomination Board.

After the meeting, the name of the final candidate was announced in a press release signed by the party’s central office secretary Barrister Biplob Barua. Earlier, the party had sold party nomination forms from the March 5 ahead of elections.

The nominees for the boat symbol in 7 unions of Chitalmari upazila are: Md. Masud Sardar in Barbaria Union Parishad No. 1, Md. Badsha Mia in Kalatla Union Parishad No. 2, Kazi Abu Sahin in Hizla Union Parishad No. 3, Md. Aliuzzaman Jewel Khalifa in No. 4 Shibpur Union Parishad, Md. Nizam Uddin Sheikh, in No 5 Chitalmari Union, Archana Devi Baral (Jharna) in Charbaniari Union Parishad No. 6 and Beauty Akhter in Santoshpur Union Parishad No. 7.