Search Committee places 10 names to President


The Search Committee, assigned to recommend the list of Chief Election Commission (CEC) and other four commissioners, today submitted a list of 10 names to President M Abdul Hamid from where five people will be picked for the Election Commission (EC).

“The search committee handed over 10 names to the President for the EC formation . . . And the President will choose the one for the CEC and four others for election commissioners within very shortest possible time,” Cabinet Secretary Khandaker Anwarul Islam told journalists after coming out from Bangabhaban this evening.

The cabinet secretary, who is also working as the secretary of the search committee, added: “The President is expected to pick five names out of 10 very shortly as per the new law.”

Earlier, he told that the search committee has selected 10 people from the proposed names, holding seven meetings and four meetings with 47 eminent personalities to garner suggestions over the EC formation.

Meanwhile, President’s Press Secretary Md Joynal Abedin told BSS that the search committee handed over the list of names to the President this evening.

EC search committee members Justice SM Quddus Zaman of the High Court Division, Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) Mohammad Muslim Chowdhury, Public Service Commission (PSC) Chairman Mohammed Sohrab Hossain, former Election Commissioner Mohammed Sohul Hossain and Writer Prof Anwara Syed Haq were also present there.

The Bangabhaban spokesman said during the meeting the President appreciated the overall activities of the search committee.

A strong and acceptable election commission would be formed on the basis of the recommendations of the search committee, the head of the state hoped.

He said this Election Commission would be able to conduct national and local elections in a free, fair and credible manner in the days to come.

The President also thanked all concerned including the committee members, the cabinet division and media people for their overall support and secretarial assistance in this connection.

This is the first time that an election commission to be formed through a search committee under the law.

The list was prepared by the search committee headed by Justice Obaidul Hasan of the Appellate Division.

Cabinet secretary and secretaries concerned to the Bangabhaban were present on the occasion.