Power Division’s Swadhinata Puraskar-2022 handed over to PM


The Swadhinata Puraskar-2022, awarded to the Power Division, was handed over to Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina as she is the architect of cent percent electrification and the country’s socio-economic advancement.

The cent percent electricity coverage has been possible due to the Prime Minister’s farsighted leadership and appropriate policy and strategy of her government.

The Prime Minister on Thursday handed over the Independence Award-2022 to nine distinguished persons and two institutions for their outstanding contributions to their respective fields in a function held at Shapla Hall of the PMO (Prime Minister’s Office) here.

State Minister of the Power, Mineral Resources and Energy, Nasrul Hamid received the independence award on behalf of the Power Division.

According to a press release of the Press Wing of PMO, the award (medal and certificate) was later handed over to the Prime Minister as she is the minister of the power ministry by its state minister.

Among others, PM’s Energy Adviser Dr. Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury, PM’s Principal Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus and Power Division Secretary Md Habibur Rahman were present on the occasion.