New York Bangladesh Press Club holds election


–Main Uddin Ahmed from New York

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) and election of New York Bangladesh Press Club was held at Nabanno Party Hall in Jackson Height on Saturday.
The day’s program began with the AGM presided over by outgoing president of the club Dr Wazed Khan.
The AGM began with the recitation of holy Quran. A standing one-minute silence was observed for the martyrs of the Liberation War and also munajat was offered for peace of their departed souls.
General Secretary Monowarul Islam and Treasurer Momin Mazumder presented their reports. An open discussion was held on tie reports and those were passed with some adjustments.
Those who took part in the open discussion were Mahmud Khan Taser, Mahfuzur Rahman, Joynal Abedin, Ibrahim Chowdhury Khokan, Imran Ansary, Farid Alam, Mary Jobaida, H B Rita and Rowshan Haque.
After pass of the annual reports the meeting got a lunch break and after lunch members of the press club took part in the election.
In the election Ajkal editor Manzur Ahmed was the Chief Election Commissioner, Anwar Hossain Manju and Habib Rahman were Assistant Election Commissioners.
In the nomination process VP and five secretaries were elected uncontested. They are: Vice President Sk Sirajul Islam, Gerneral Secretary Monowarul Islam, Joint Secretary Momin Mazumder, Finance Secretary Rashed Ahmed, Organizing Secretary S M Solaiman and Office Secretary Mahathir Khan Faruquee.
Contests were there for the posts of president and four members of the executive committee.
Bangla Potrika editor and Time TV CEO Abu Taher was elected president for two years (2022-23) by defeating Deshbangla and Bangla Times editor Dr Sarowarul Hasan Chowdhury. On the other hand Farid Alam, ABM Salahuddin, Rowshan Haq and SM Zahidur Rahman were elected members of the executive committee.