Dr Pran Gopal elected unopposed MP in Cumilla-7 by-polls


Dr Pran Gopal Dutta, former vice-chancellor (VC) of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU), the ruling Awami League (AL) nominee has been declared the winner unopposed in Cumilla-7 (Chandina) by-polls.

Cumilla Regional Election Officer Md. Dulal Talukder issued a notification in this regard on Monday.

“Dr Pran Gopal has been declared ‘winner’ as yesterday, the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers, two out of the three candidates withdrew their nomination papers,” he said. The by-polls was scheduled to be held on 7 October.

Earlier on 16 September, Jatiya Party candidate Lutfur Reza Khokon, who is also the central vice chairman and party convener of Cumilla District (north), withdrew his nomination, ditching the election race. Later, National Awami Party (NAP) candidate Monirul Islam withdrew his nomination on Saturday (18 September).

The constituency fell vacant after the death of Cumilla-7 constituency AL lawmaker and former Deputy Speaker Ali Ashraf on 30 July.