Sherpur Press Club celebrates 41st founding anniv


Md Musharaf Hossain, Sherpur:

The 41st founding anniversary of the Sherpur Press Club has been celebrated by maintaining physical distance and following the health rules as per the instructions of the government to fight the second wave of coronavirus (Covid-19).

On this occasion, a cake-cutting ceremony was organized at the Press Club auditorium on Monday morning 12:01am. Press Club President Sharifur Rahman presided over the cake-cutting ceremony, where National Parliament Whip FF Md Atiur Rahman Atiq MP, lifelong member of the club was present as the chief guest.

Sherpur municipality mayor Alhaj Golam Mohammad Kibria Liton, Sadar Upazila Family Planning Officer (Acting) Dr Sharmin Rahman Ami and District AL cultural secretary Anisur Rahman were present as special guests on the occasion.

Among others, Rafiqul Islam Aadher former president and Sabiha Zaman Shapla former GS of the club, current senior vice-presidents Malay Mohan Bal and S.M Shahidul Islam, joint GS Mahiuddin Sohel, organizing secretary Manik Dutta, assistant organizing secretary Marufur Rahman Fakir, sports and cultural secretary Sohel Rana, literature and publication secretary Imran Hasan Rabbi, publicity secretary Zubaidul Islam, executive member Debashish Saha Roy, senior journalist Talat Mahmud, Sanjeev Chanda Biltu and Fazlul Kabir Suruj and others member of the club were present.

President Sharifur Rahman and GS Meraj Uddin and other leaders of the press club said that considering the outbreak of the second wave of Coronavirus (Covid-19), the 41st founding anniversary of the Press Club has been shortened this time. However, if the situation in Covid-19 returns to normal, a large-scale commemoration of the new committee and the anniversary of the press club will be unveiled, they added.

It may be mentioned that Sherpur Press Club was formed in 1980 when Sherpur was a subdivision. On 24 May 1980, the first committee of the Sherpur Press Club was formed with 7 journalists of the district.