4 UP chairmen elected as unopposed in Chitalmari


Md. Kamruzzaman Khan Picklu, Chitalmari, Bagerhat:

Four candidates out of seven union parishads in Chitalmari Upazila have been elected chairman as they remained unopposed.

Elections will be held on April 11 for the reserved and general ward member posts in all the six unions, including the chairman post in the remaining three unions. Upazila Election Officer Mohammad Abdul Majid confirmed the information on Wednesday evening.

The election official further said that till 5 pm on March 18, 17 candidates filed nomination papers for the post of chairman against 7 candidates of the party symbol boat. Many of those deprived of boat nominations on March 24 withdrew their candidacies. As there are single candidates for the boat in the four unions, they have been elected chairman unofficially. The unopposed elected are Kazi Abu Sahin in Hizla Union Parishad No. 3, Waliuzzaman Jewel Khalifa in Shibpur Union Parishad No. 4, Archana Devi Baral Jharna in Charbaniari Union Parishad No. 6 and Beauty Akhter in Santoshpur Union Parishad No. 6.

On the other hand, Bangladesh Awami League nominated boat symbol owner Md. Masud Sardar, independent candidate Ahiduzzaman Panna Sheikh in Barabaria Union Parishad No. 1, Bangladesh Awami League nominated boat symbol bearer in 2 no. Kalatala Union Parishad Md. Badsha Mia Sheikh, independent candidates Sikder Matiar, Abu Jafar Md. Alamgir Hossain and in 5 no. Chitalmari Sadar Union, Bangladesh Awami League nominated boat symbol holder Md. Nizam Uddin Sheikh and independent candidate Md. Saheb Ali Faraji will contest in the election to be held on 14 April.

It may be mentioned that the total number of voters in 7 unions of Chitalmari Upazila is 1 lakh 10 thousand 816 people. Of these, 56,948 are male and 53,868 are female voters. There are 63 general wards with 21 reserved wards and 64 polling stations and 322 polling booths.