Nakla Press Club gets new committee


Md Musharaf Hossain, Sherpur:

The bi-annual election of the traditional Nakla Press Club of Sherpur district was held in a participatory, free, fair and impartial manner on Saturday.

The election was held on 20 March Saturday from 11 am to 2 pm at the Muktijuddha Complex auditorium of Nakla through secret ballot papers.

Md Musharaf Hossain correspondent at daily Asian Age and daily Alokito Bangladesh and Mosharraf Hossain Sarker Babu Correspondent at daily Kaler Kontha were made President and General Secretary. Among others 11 executive members and 11 general member’s committee bodies were formed.

After the vote count, Md Musharaf Hossain was elected as president and his closest and only rival was Abdur Rafiq. Khandaker Jasim Uddin Minto and Md Mizanur Rahman elected as vice-president. Mosharraf Hossain Sarkar Babu was elected as General Secretary and his closest and only rival was Md Mominul Islam Sumon. Nasir Uddin and Md Delwar Hossain elected as Joint General Secretary, Md Fazlay Rabbi Rajon and Md Nur Hossain elected as Organizational Secretary. Moreover, Selim Reza as the office secretary, Abdullah Al-Amin as the Treasurer, Mazharul Islam Lalon as the Literary and Cultural Secretary, Nahidul Islam Rijon as the Publication Secretary and Asaduzzaman Sowrav as the Information and Research Secretary respectively were unopposed elected.

During the voting, counting and announcement of the Upazila Parishad Chairman Shah Md Borhan Uddin, Upazila Nirbahi Officer Zahidur Rahman, Upazila Awami League General Secretary FF Shafiqul Islam Zinnah, Assistant Commissioner (Land) and Executive Magistrate Kawsar Ahammad, Municipality Mayor Hafizur Rahman Liton, Sherpur Press Club General Secretary Meraj Uddin, Sherpur Press Club former president Advocate Rafiqul Islam Aadhar, reserved female member of district council Anjuman Ara Rumi and member Samiul Haque Mukta, publicity secretary of Upazila Awami League Abdur Rashid, lecturer SM Sakhawat Hoassain, police members including SI Chandan Kumar Pawl on behalf of police department, Juba League leaders Noore Alam Siddiqui Utpal, Akram Hossain and Ayub Khan, General Secretary of Sherpur Youth Reporters Club and Channel 24 Television correspondent Imran Hasan Rabbi, Organizing Secretary and Ekattur Television correspondent Shakil Murad, News24 Television correspondent SM Zubaidul Islam, daily Amader Shomoy correspondent Jahidul Haque Monir, Bangla Television correspondent Naeem Islam, The Muslim Times correspondent Bulbul Ahammed, News Bangladesh correspondent Shahriar Shakir and many others journalist of different media, officers of different office, leaders of AL and JL and considerable person were also present.

In this election, 19 candidates bought nomination papers to contest for different posts. However, due to non-submission of nomination papers for the posts of President, Vice-President and General Secretary within the stipulated date and time, 16 candidates for 13 posts submitted nomination papers. Later, the Nakla Press Club Election Commission declared all the nomination papers valid after checking and selecting the nomination papers of the submitted candidates.

According to the schedule, voting was held non-stop from 11 am to 2 pm on Saturday. Prominent poet and columnist Talat Mahmud was the Chief Election Commissioner and Alhaj Mahbubar Rahman was the Assistant Election Commissioner.