Sherpur Press Club gets new committee


Md Musharaf Hossain, Sherpur:

Md Sharifur Rahman correspondent of the Ekushey Television and Md Meraj Uddin correspondent of the Independent Television on Saturday were elected as new president and general secretary of Sherpur Press Club respectively for the next two year.

Meraj Uddin has been elected as the GS for the second time by secret ballot paper and Sharifur Rahman has been elected as the president without any contest. Among others, G.M Ajfar Babul has been elected as the senior vice president and Manik Dutta has been elected as the organizing secretary without any contest.

Only the election for the post of general secretary was held through ballot papers. Voting continued at the Utsav Community Center in Madhabpur of Sherpur town from 11 am to 2 pm on Saturday.

In this election all 77 voters exercised their voting right. Md Meraj Uddin got 45 votes and was elected general secretary. His nearest and only rival candidate Adil Mahmud Ujjal district correspondent of Jamuna Television got 32 votes.

After the announcement of the results, Adil Mahmud Ujjal assured everyone to work in unity for the overall development of the press club through mutual cooperation.

Lifelong member of the club, Whip of the Jatiya Sangsad, heroic FF Atiur Rahman Atiq MP was present at the center from the beginning of polling till the announcement of results.

Sherpur sadar upazila parishad chairman Rafiqul Islam, Sherpur municipal mayor Golam Mohammad Kibria Liton, Jhenaigati upazila chairman S.M Abdullah Warez Naim, election commissioner G.M Ajfar Babul, M.A Hakam Hira, Debashish Saha Roy, Subrata Kumar Dey Vanu, Sabiha Zaman Shapla, Masud Hasan Badal and Manik Dutta, 77 voters and many others journalists different upazila were present.

It is learned that senior journalists including the president and general secretary will form a 21-member executive committee.