AL picks candidates for 16 municipalities

AL Chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presiding over a meeting at her official residence Ganabhaban. Photo: BSS

Dailynewsun Report

Ruling Bangladesh Awami League (AL) on Saturday finalized candidates for the 16 municipalities out of 25 municipalities of the first phase scheduled to be held on December 28.

This decision was finalized at a meeting of the Awami League Local Government Nomination Board held at the party president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s official residence Ganabhaban.

AL Chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting that started at 3.30 pm, said a press release this evening.

Today’s meeting finalized candidates of the AL for 16 pourasovas (municipalities) out of 25 municipalities, as the first phase of municipality elections across the country, is slated for December 28.

The candidates who were given party ticket for the 16 municipalities are: Jakia Khatun for Panchagarh municipality in Panchagarh district, Md Koshirul Alam of Pirganj in Thakurgaon, Md Khaja Mainuddin of Phulbari in Dinajpur, Md Ahasanul Haque Chowdhury of Badarganj in Rangpur, Md Kaziul Islam of Kurigram in Kurigram district, Md Robiul Islam of Putia in Rajshahi, Md Abbas Ali of Katakhali in Rajshahi and Monir Akhter Khan Topu Lodi of Shahjadpur in Sirajganj, Sakhawat Hossain Sakho of Chatmohor in Pabna, Al Masum Murshed of Khoksha in Kushtia, Sanat Kumar Biswas of Chalna Chalna in Khulna, ABM Golum Kabir of Betagi in Barguna, Md Abdul Barek Molla of Kuakata in Patuakhali, Md Gias Uddin Bepari of Uzirpur in Barishal, SM Iqbal Hossain Sumon of Gafargaon in Mymensingh, Md Abdul Hannan Talukder of Madan in Netrakona, Biswajit Ray of Dirai in Sunamganj, Abul Imam Md Kamran Chowdhury of Barolekha in Moulvibazar and Bodiul Alam of Sitakunda in Chattogram.

In the first phase, the election will be held in 25 municipalities. The last date of nomination paper submission is scheduled on December 1, nomination papers scrutinize on December 3 and last date of nomination papers withdrawal on December 10.

The voting, to be conducted through the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM), will begin from 8am and continue till 4pm without any break.

The 25 municipalities are Panchagarh in Panchagarh district, Pirganj in Thakurgaon, Phulbari in Dinajpur, Badarganj in Rangpur, Kurigram in Kurigram district, Putia and Katakhali in Rajshahi, Shahjadpur in Sirajganj, Chatmohor in Pabna, Khoksha in Kushtia, Chuadanga, Chalna in Khulna, Betagi in Barguna, Kuakata in Patuakhali, Uzirpur and Bakerganj in Barishal, Gafargaon in Mymensingh, Madan in Netrakona, Manikganj, Dhamrai in Dhaka, Sripur in Gazipur, Dirai in Sunamganj, Barolekha in Moulvibazar, Shayesthaganj in Habiganj and Sitakunda in Chattogram.

Senior Secretary of the Election Commission (EC) said in four to five phases, the elections to all municipalities will be completed by March and April next year.

Country’s total municipalities are 329 where 286 are prepared for elections and the rest 43 municipalities have different complexities and cases, he added.

After amendment of the local government act, the municipality election was held in the country in 2015. A total of 20 political parties took part in the election.

Awami League is now working to choose its candidates for the upcoming polls to the local government bodies, including three Zila Parishads (district councils), nine Upazila Parishads and 61 Union Parishads across the country.